Super Rookie Kim ‘Goes 2G Without Conceding a Goal’ After Returning to the First Team

Doosan Bears rookie pitcher Kim Taek-yeon recorded his first hold since joining the KBO.

Doosan won 5-2 against the LG Twins in the 2024 Shinhan SOL Bank KBO League on Wednesday at Jamsil Baseball Stadium in Seoul, South Korea.

Kim came on as the team’s eighth pitcher in the eighth inning and pitched one scoreless inning with one strikeout. It was his second consecutive scoreless game since returning to the first team on April 9.

Most importantly, he held LG’s top of the order scoreless in a tight three-run game. After a seven-pitch battle with leadoff hitter Shin Min-jae, Kim threw a 144-kilometer four-seam fastball to get the first out on a foul fly to third base. He then threw three straight four-seamers to Hong Chang-ki, who flied out to left field. Park gave up a walk to Hae-min Park on a wild pitch, but he fanned Kim Hyun-soo on two straight pitches to end the inning with a fly ball to right field.

After the game, Kim said, “It was my first time on the mound in an important situation since returning to the first team. I’m not happy with the way it went, but I’m still happy to get through the first inning. I’m more satisfied with the fact that I was able to help the team win than the fact that I recorded my first hold.”

Kim Taek-yeon, who was included in the opening roster, had a difficult time adjusting to the KBO. After blowing a blown save in the opening game with two runs in 1.1 innings, he allowed one run (unearned) and struck out three in 1.1 innings in the next two games.

After posting a 7.71 ERA in three games, Kim cooled down in the Futures League and was called back up to the first team on Sept. 9.

“When I went down to the second team, the pitching coach and seniors instilled confidence in me. When I came 안전놀이터 back to the first team, I thought, ‘Don’t be conscious of the opposing batter,’” Kim explained.

“They had a strong batting order, but I didn’t look at the batting order, I just looked at (Yang’s) signature. I trusted the best catcher in Korea, and I think that led to a good result,” he said, giving credit to Yang.

“When I was walking off the mound and during the postgame interview, the fans were chanting my name, which made me feel really good. It felt really good, and the only way to repay them is to play well. I will do my best to show only good things in the future,” he said, thanking the fans.

“I don’t play baseball for the records, but now that I have my first hold, I hope to reach double digits this year,” he concluded.

Only 19 of the 144 games have been completed. The 18-year-old rookie’s baseball career is just beginning.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started